Presidential Election 2017 Results LIVE: Ram Nath Kovind leads, ‘Not upset’, says Meira Kumar

Incumbent Pranab Mukherjee’s term as President ends on July 25

Presidential election 2017 India

Today’s Paper : On July 17, of the total 4,880 valid voters — 4,109 members of legislative Assemblies (MLAs) and 771 elected members of Parliament (MPs) — 99.49 per cent cast their vote to elect the next President of India. In the fray were the National Democratic Alliance’s (NDA’s) candidate Ram Nath Kovind, and the Opposition candidate Meira Kumar.

The counting of votes is scheduled to begin at 11 am on Thursday, July 20, but it is believed that Kovind has an edge over Kumar. However, should he win, the margin of his victory will be interesting to note, given that there were reports of many instances where voters from Opposition parties also voting for Kovind in the election.

CATCH ALL THE LIVE UPDATES:  Presidential Election 2017 Results

03:19 PM
Anoop Mishra, Returning officer gives the breakdown of votes:
Ram Nath Kovind got 1,389 out of 4,79,585
Meira Kumar got 576 out of 2,04,594
37 invalid after counting for Parliament & 11 states

03:08 PM

The states where the counting has finished include Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana and Himachal Pradesh.

 02:51 PM

Number of invalid votes: 21
02:51 PM
Total votes in Meira Kumar’s favour is 225 in value of 1,59,300
02:51 PM
Total votes polled in favour of Ram Nath Kovind is 522 in value of 3,69,576
02:45 PM
In Bihar, it was a close fight with Kovind getting 22,490 and Meira Kumar 18,867.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s